Archive for April 18, 2008

Weekly Wrap-up

Here are all the things I loved (or hated) pop-culturally this week.

Television: How I Met Your Mother, “The Chain of Screaming”–I liked this episode. It wasn’t the best Mother episode, but it certainly wasn’t the worst. And the continuity was off the charts. Marshall’s scream-ologue at Barney was legen…wait for it…

The Office, “The Chairmodel”–Now, I know this was the squee-worthy Jam-filled episode of goo, but the MVP for me was Kevin. He made me laugh and, yes I’ll admit it, made me cry. I’m so sad that he and Stacey broke up, but at least he got his parking spot back.

Bones, “The Man in the Mud”–Very cute episode for Booth and Bones. I didn’t really care about the case so much, and I figured that it was a family member in the first five minutes (I was torn between the sister or the dad). But Booth’s horse was awesome, as were his interactions with Brennan. If these two don’t do the do by the end of the season, I’m going to spontaneously combust from all the chemistry.

…dary.

Books: I read through “Not Quite What I Was Planning.” Very poignant and funny, and a fascinating concept. How do you boil your entire life down into six words? I tried, and ended up with at least three possibilities. My current favorite is, “‘Its’ and ‘it’s’–two different words.” What would your six words be?

I’m also rereading “Cold Comfort Farm.” As soon as I finish that, I plan to start on “Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less” by Jeffrey Archer.

Movies: I tried to watch “Eragon” on Sunday. But if I want to watch wizards and dragons and quests involving elf-like creatures and sword play, I’ll watch the far superior Lord of the Rings trilogy. If you’re a kid, I’m sure “Eragon” is fun. But if you’re me, and you’ve both read and watched the Lord of the Rings, “Eragon” leaves you bored and angry that you wasted two hours of your life and you’ll never get that time back.

Music: A friend gave me Neutral Milk Hotel’s “In The Aeroplane Over The Sea.” I know it’s not a new album, but it’s new to me. Since Spoon is in very heavy rotation on my iPod, these songs are a nice complement. Favorite songs: “In The Areoplane Over The Sea” and “King of the Carrot Flowers Part 1.”

April 18, 2008 at 4:32 pm 1 comment


April 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives