Pilot Season Snap Judgements

July 28, 2014 at 8:53 pm Leave a comment

New tv is upon us, tv-watching people! Settle in, watch some trailers, and then come see how kegger and I feel about things!

Black-ish

ameliebee: I chuckled a few times, but I probably won’t watch it. I have high standards when it comes to sitcoms these days.

kegger: Nah.

 

Cristela

ameliebee: I couldn’t even make it through the whole trailer. Pass.

kegger: It looks kind of awful.  And I actually somehow managed to watch the entire trailer.

 

Forever

ameliebee: That clip gave me NOTHING about the premise of the show. However, IOAN GRUFFUD! HI! (The premise of the show reminds me of New Amsterdam. Does anyone remember that show? It starred pre-Jaime Lannister Nikolaj Coster-Waldau. That was my first Nikolaj Coster-Waldau experience, and you know what they say about your first…)

kegger: Looks… meh.  (Also, what the heck is New Amsterdam?)  This show looks like it’s going to be a procedural… while he figures out he’s immortal?  Whaaa?  The premiss just seems kind of week, to be honest.

How to Get Away With Murder

ameliebee: I don’t really care. This isn’t my preferred genre of television, so I’m giving this one a pass.

kegger: This reminds me of I Know What You Did Last Summer, for some reason… though I have no clue why.  Also, this isn’t my type of show, but of the trailers I’ve watched so far, this one looks more entertaining than everything else.  That’s not saying much, though.

 

Manhattan Love Story

ameliebee: It looks cute, but I’m not sure it’s sustainable. 50/50 chance I’ll watch.

kegger: Looks cute, but I don’t see how it could be a very long series.

ameliebee: JINX! You owe me a Coke!

 

Selfie

ameliebee: Oh, man. Oh, man. Karen Gillan and John Cho, YOU DESERVE BETTER. PASS.

kegger: Ugh. I feel so bad for Amy Pond!  THIS SHOW LOOKS SO HORRIBLE!

 

Madame Secretary

ameliebee: I actually kind of like the look of this one. I might have to check it out. Reminds me of the West Wing, and has enough dry humor to at least get me through the pilot episode.

kegger: This just isn’t my kind of show.

 

The McCarthy’s

ameliebee: No. Pass.

kegger: Looks AWFUL.

 

NCIS New Orleans

ameliebee: Pass. Mostly because I’m not into any of the NCIS franchise.

kegger: I just don’t like those shows in general.  Though I do wonder why it’s taken so long to get a show like that based in New Orleans. They have crime out the ass there, so it’s kind of the perfect city for a crime show. Though I doubt they’ll go accurate with it, because that wouldn’t be politically correct.  Plus, it would get all kinds of boring, because it would be nothing but, “What gang murder do we have today?!”

 

Scorpion

ameliebee: That looks kind of cool. I’ll give it a shot. I love nerds getting things done.

kegger: Makes me think of Hackers.  I wonder if it’ll be as inaccurate as Hackers!  I might watch it just to see if it is.

 

Stalker

ameliebee: I’m not into psychological thrillers… or stalkers. Pass.

kegger: Nope. Looks kinda boring.

 

The Flash

ameliebee: I do like a superhero story, and this one doesn’t look terrible. Not sure if I’ll watch this one or not. Probably not, let’s be honest.

kegger: Maybe? Probably not.

 

Jane the Virgin

ameliebee: Really? This is a thing now? Pass.

kegger: This show looks absolutely AWFUL.  (I’m starting to feel a little repetitive, at this point.)

 

Gracepoint

ameliebee: This is the US remake of the British show Broadchurch. To which I say: just air Broadchurch over here! There is very clearly a market for well-done British shows in the US (see: Downton Abbey, Call the Midwife). Also: David Tennant what did they do to your hair?! And your accent?! Pass.

kegger: Seriously, why didn’t they just save money and air the BBC’s Broadchurch? It’s the exact. same. show.  And Broadchurch is a much cooler town name than “Gracepoint.” And I prefer my David Tennant with a sexy accent.  (Sidenote:  Apparently, they changed the ending, so people that have already seen Broadchurch wouldn’t be bored.)

 

Gotham

ameliebee: Ben Mackenzie, you are adorable and I heart you, but I probably won’t watch this.

kegger: I’m tired of hearing about the support team for the superheroes. I would prefer just watching the superheroes.

ameliebee: For real, I want some Avengers on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. GIVE ME SUPERHEROS.

 

Mulaney

ameliebee: For a show about a comedian, this looks horribly unfunny. Pass.

kegger: I don’t even remember watching that one, so obviously it didn’t stick with me.

 

Red Band Society

ameliebee: This will undoubtedly make me cry, but it looks pretty good, so I’m going to give it a chance.

kegger: It might be a touching show, but I have no desire to watch a show about terminally sick kids in a hospital, I’ll be honest.

 

Utopia

ameliebee: No. Fucking “reality.” Pass

kegger: So sick of reality tv.

 

A to Z

ameliebee: It looks kind of cute. I could go either way on this one.

kegger: It looks like NBC’s attempt at How I Met Your Mother.  And it’s even got the mom!  Because How I Met Your Mother ended so badly, I’m slightly reluctant to watch this.  Seriously.  That show ended so badly.

 

Bad Judge

ameliebee: Oh, so ridiculous and unrealistic. But kind of intriguing? I’m unsure how I feel about this.

kegger: This looks COMPLETELY unrealistic. That chick would’ve never gotten elected as judge.  I might give it a chance.  Maybe?

 

Constantine

ameliebee: Ooh, yes. Definitely in for at least a few episodes.

kegger: I might actually give this a chance.

 

Mary Me

ameliebee: That is totally Vinnie Van Lowe. And I am totally not watching it. Pass.

kegger:  I don’t remember watching this trailer, so it must’ve sucked, too.

 

Mysteries of Laura

ameliebee: I don’t remember this one at all. Pass.

kegger: Pass.

 

State of Affairs

ameliebee: No, thanks. I’m not buying what Katherine Heigl is selling.

kegger: I just can’t take Katherine Heigl very seriously in this role. I don’t know why.  It’s not like she can’t do drama… so why can’t I buy her in this role?  I just don’t see it.  Plus, in general, this premiss doesn’t sound appealing to me at all, Katherine Heigl or not.  Pass.

 

And there you have it! What are your thoughts on fall’s new shows? Any shows you’re looking forward to returning?

ameliebee: I am ready and waiting for Sleepy Hollow to come back into my life. And I wish Vampire Diaries had ended less cliff-hangery, because I was thisclose to giving up on it, and it sucked me back in, at least until I find out what happened to Damon and Bonnie.

kegger:  I’m excited about the new season of Doctor Who, though I admit getting a new doctor always gives me anxiety because what if I don’t like him?!?  And I wanna see what happened to Damon on Vampire Diaries, which kind of pisses me off, because I was prepared to give up that show after that craptastic season last year.  And I’m looking forward to New Girl… that’s about it.  C’mon, TV. You’re in a slump.  Pick up, and gimme something new and fun to watch, already!!!

Entry filed under: television. Tags: , .

What I Baked: Red Velvet Cake

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2014
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives