Blogging for Books Review: Reasons My Kid Is Crying

June 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm Leave a comment

Reasons My Kid Is Crying coverTitle: Reasons My Kid Is Crying

Author: Greg Pembroke

Random House Description: It all started when busy father Greg Pembroke posted a few pictures online of his three-year-old son, mid-tantrum, alongside the reason his son was crying: He had broken his bit of cheese in half. In Reasons My Kid is Crying, Greg collects together photos sent from parents around the world, documenting the many, completely logical reasons why small children cry.  Among them: “I let him play on the grass” . . . “He ran out of toys to throw into his pool” . . . “The neighbor’s dog isn’t outside”.  The result is both an affectionate portrait of the universal, baffling logic of toddlers—and a reminder for burned-out parents everywhere that they are not alone.

Review: I found the Reasons My Son Is Crying tumblr a while back, and it cracked me up. I don’t have kids, but I’ve always had kids in my life for various reasons–work, family, friends. And it has always stunned me how completely and totally toddlers commit to having a tantrum over the smallest things. (One of my cousins wanted to play soccer as a little girl, and after the first game she was done: “I had to RUN! I got SWEATY! THERE IS GRASS ON MY SHOE!!!”) I know, for parents of a child in the middle of a breakdown, there is nothing funny in the moment. I know that strangers stop and stare and judge, and it’s embarrassing and Not Fun. This book, though? This book shows the humor in those embarrassing Not Fun moments. It’s okay, parents of melting-down toddlers: you aren’t alone.

Part of the charm of the book comes from the deadpan delivery of the reasons for each tantrum. There is no explanation other than a short, simple caption printed over some truly epic mid-meltdown pictures:

“We told him he was too young for beer.”

“She’s not allowed to eat garbage out of the garbage can.”

“His uncle gave him a hug.”

 

Pembroke also provides additional observations and mini-stories, in the sections “Dispatches from the Frontlines” and “Reasons Why I’m Crying” (“I wouldn’t let him stick a garden hose down his brother’s pants.”). These sections show just how truly baffling being a parent of a toddler can be.

 

If you have toddlers, or if you have friends or family members who have toddlers, I feel like “Reasons My Kid Is Crying” would be a great gift, especially for parents of kids going through the terrible twos. If you have friends or family members who are expecting their first child, this  book will give them something to look forward to. (Or it might just be a terrifying look into the future: a future filled with illogical, world-ending, snot-filled meltdowns over the silliest, simplest things.) (It’s probably that one.)

 

Would I Read It Again? I’m pretty sure, when I need a smile, I’ll pick up “Reasons My Kid Is Crying,” revel in the schadenfreude of countless parents, and be glad that I don’t currently have a toddler making me question my sanity.

Should You Read It? Absolutely! It’s fun and funny.

Where Can I Internet Stalk the Author Find Out More? Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr

FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: , , .

Aaaand we’re back! New Feature: What I Baked

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

June 2014
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives


