Archive for August 11, 2008

Even more things to look forward to seeing if you’re in China for the Olympics

I think I win at this game, don’t I?

August 11, 2008 at 4:30 pm 7 comments

MORE things to look forward to seeing if you’re in China for the Olympics!

Crowded apartments.  She’s washing her hair outside.  Probably because she lives with 11 other girls and it’s just more peaceful to do it outside.  (And no, I’m not joking.  This is a college dorm.  And she really does have 11 roommates.) 

Scenic views. 

Homecooked chicken.  I’m going to have to explain this one a bit for you to get the full effect, though.  This picture (and the picture of the boy on top of the roof) was taken in a village in a mountain.  These people are a poor minority group in China (which means they’re allowed to have more than one kid) and they very rarely leave home.  They’re incredibly poor, and they waste NOTHING.  Everything from that slaughtered chicken was used.  The feathers were saved to make pillows later.  The meat was used to eat, and what they didn’t use, they fed to their pigs.  The blood was kept to use as a sauce. 

Yes.  A sauce.  A chicken blood sauce. 

When we went to their village, we were told that they were very poor, and they were making a feast for us (and they did.  They were very kind and very nice).  We were also told that whatever they put on our plate (no matter how rancid–and believe me, there was some rancid food there), we had to eat.  No matter what.  Which I thought I could handle. 

Until the chicken blood sauce. 

I turned green.  I almost puked.  It was not cool.  But thankfully, they knew we would be picky, so they saved the chicken blood sauce for themselves to use later.  The only thing they put on our plate was white rice, and all of the other food was put on a separate plate for us to choose from.  God bless them.  I ate every single tiny little kernel of rice on my plate.

Bonus picture: 

This is what I was talking about in my last post.  It was much better than the alternative.  Although, did I mention that the toilet was in the shower?  Yep.  We had to straddle that nifty little hole every time we took a shower.  Needless to say, I didn’t shower nearly as much as I usually do while I was over there.  The hole kind of freaked me out.  I was afraid my flip flops would slip into it or something.  One girl on our trip actually lost some body wash down the hole and it ended up stopping up a toilet on the lower floor of the apartment complex.  Oops.  🙂 

  

August 11, 2008 at 10:45 am Leave a comment


August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives