Things to look forward to seeing if you’re in China for the Olympics!

August 8, 2008 at 9:27 am 7 comments

Crowded apartment complexes with clothes hanging out to dry. [amelie: Oh, thank God. No more squatty potties.]

Open produce markets with brightly colored spices for sale. [amelie: Pretty. I want to sink my hands in them.]

… and dogs.

(It’s kind of disturbing…  Especially if you’re a dog lover.) 

Yes. Dogs. They eat dogs. But not just any dogs. Not pet dogs. Only dogs bred specifically for eating–primarily german shepherds.

I’m sure that makes you feel MUCH better about the whole thing. 🙂 [amelie: I HATE YOU! BRING BACK THE SQUATTY POTTIES!]

Entry filed under: dogs, Friday's Photo, random. Tags: , , , , .

Olympic Thoughts Names that rival Renesmee

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kegger  |  August 8, 2008 at 9:56 am

    I felt kind of evil for posting the dog pictures.

    More squatty potties can be arranged if you really want more. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. ameliebee  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    No, that really won’t be necessary.

    Reply
  • 3. kegger  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    You sure, amelie? I might have to throw one more in just because I think it’ll make everyone laugh their asses off. Or, at least give you a visual.

    Basically, we were over there for 10 days. We couldn’t stand using those horrible squatty potties. (I mean, seriously–peeing squatting like you’re outside is one thing. Pooping while you’re squatting is another thing altogether.) So we went down to the supermarket and bought a little chair with a hole in the middle to sit over the squatty potty. It’s for old people in China that can’t squat anymore. When we were buying them, all of the Chinese people were laughing at us like we were idiots, but I honestly didn’t care–at least I didn’t have to poo squatting. So anyway, it did the job, it worked well, and yaaaaay, we didn’t have to squat anymore! The problem was, the pee had a long way to fall, and when it hit that little hole, it splashed all over the place, so when we sat in our little chair with the hole in it, we had to raise our legs up in the air to keep our jeans from getting icky. It was… interesting. But still better than the alternative.

    So I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the squatty potty with the potty seat over it.

    Sorry. Just had to share that. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. ameliebee  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:07 am

    TMI. I used to say “don’t go there,” but that’s just lame.

    Reply
  • 5. kegger  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Yeah, I knew it was TMI. But still. Had to share it. Couldn’t help it. It really was a funny story. Our entire group had serious anxiety when it came to pooping while squatting.

    One guy in particular was hilarious. “When I use the bathroom, that’s my happy time. That’s my relaxing time. I sit and read the newspaper, or a sports magazine. How is that going to be my happy time if I’m squatting? And how am I going to keep from falling over?” HAHAHAHA.

    What is also really funny, is that Chinese people naturally squat. If they’re just like, standing on the side of the road, they just randomly pop a squat. Just to relax.

    And also, apparently Chinese people have less hemmroids because of how they poo.

    I’m just full of knowledge and wisdom today, aren’t I?!? 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. brooklyn  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I will read every squatty potty story in the world if you just take away the dog photo, or put it behind a cut or something. That is seriously disturbing. Do not want!

    I like your photos, though 🙂 Nice camera skills.

    Reply
  • 7. kegger  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Okay, you win. I’ll put it behind a cut. It IS gross, I admit. Poor sweet dogs.

    Thanks, by the way! I get a little camera happy sometimes. I filled up my memory card while I was over there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


