Olympic Thoughts

August 6, 2008 at 3:31 pm 6 comments

If you’re going to the Beijing Olympics, sure, you have Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall and the Forbidden City to look forward to.

But what else do you have to look forward to?

Squatty potties!!!! And that’s not even the worst one. That’s actually a sophisticated squatty potty. That one flushes. What to see one that’s even worse? [amelie: Absofuckinglutely not. No. Please, kegger. Don’t do it.]

And that picture doesn’t even come close to doing it justice. That potty was nasty. There are no words. [amelie: I told you not to do it, but you did it anyway. Damn you!]

Enjoy China, everyone! I sure did when I went there! But maaaaaan was I glad when I got home!!!!!

Additional tips: You think plane bathrooms are bad? No. Compared to squatty potties, they’re the best thing in the history of the universe. Use it one last time, while you can. There is ONE Western toilet in the Beijing airport in each of the women’s bathrooms. The rest are squatties. Take that chance and use it one last time. The nicer hotels probably have western toilets, but you’re pretty much screwed everywhere else you go, so if I were you, I’d drink as little as possible while I was over there and only pee in my hotel.

Also, it’s okay to drink their green tea (which is pretty much all anyone over there offers you)–it doesn’t make you poo like Mexico’s water. [amelie: You know what? I’m never going anywhere with you ever.]

Entry filed under: Poop, random. Tags: , , , , .

I have a confession to make… Things to look forward to seeing if you’re in China for the Olympics!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brooklyn  |  August 6, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Ahahahaha…I remember in Taiwan they had squatty potties like that. Uh, the first example, not the second. That’s just nasty.

    Although I have seen some that weree somewhere in-between, also in Taiwan. Not exactly a floor toilet but a little more than a hole in the ground with…what the hell is that? Foot rests? Siiiiick.

    Reply
  • 2. kegger  |  August 6, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Yep, those are foot rests. And we all peed there. All of us. Because we really didn’t have a choice. We were in a rural area of China and it was the last bathroom stop for 4 hours. And once we got up to the village on top of the mountain, the bathrooms were even worse–a little hut with flies flying all around it, that had a hole dug in the middle. And like, 10 families used that handy dandy little hole. It wasn’t pleasant.

    In one of the bigger cities, they had this public bathroom (that you had to pay to use) that had stalls, but there was just a trough that went down the center of the aisles. So you would be squatting there peeing, and someone’s pee from the stall above you would trickle down. While I was squatting there peeing, I couldn’t help but think, what if you had to poo? Would poo just float down the pee river? What if it got stuck in the other stall? Ew. I mean, obviously no one wants to poo in public bathrooms, but it happens sometimes, right? So how do those little pee troughs handle poo?

    Even though I was wondering that, I’m SO glad I didn’t find out.

    I bet you love me even more now, don’t ya amelie? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. ameliebee  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I’m ignoring you right now. Lalalala. I can’t hear you!

    Reply
  • 4. kegger  |  August 7, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I thought about posting an even more graphic, more close up picture of the 2nd squatty potty, but amelie threatened my life if I did. So consider yourselves lucky. Then again, I might just post it, anyway, because I’m evil. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. NickB  |  August 20, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Wow! You are all such wimps!! When I was sick with Dhengi Fever in Malaysia in 1990, I had to sluice out the FEMALE STAFF toilet with a fire hose before it was suitable to use. Not only was the *mess” coming out of the pan, but there were piles of it all around the floor. And this was the *Female Staff Bathroom*. The one for patients was so bad I couldn’t even enter it. And i am NOT a wimp! ;))

    Reply
  • 6. kegger  |  August 21, 2008 at 8:26 am

    I gag very easily–smells really get to me. So NickB, I can honestly say I would NOT have been able to finish cleaning up your Female Staff bathroom. I think I’d just have to let the female staff people fend for themselves, and I’d go use the bathroom out in the woods. I guess I’m officially a wimp!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


