I’m getting old

June 30, 2008 at 8:45 pm 5 comments

I used to be able to stay up all night with no effort at all.  Now?  Holy hell am I tired.  I barely got any sleep at all this past weekend, and I barely made it through the day at work today.  How did I do it?  It was just a couple of years ago!  I could deal with no sleep, I could deal with jet lag, I could handle it all.  And suddenly I’ve got an 8:00-5:00 job (okay, 7:30 to 3:30 job with no lunch break.  Same diff.) and I can’t stay up all night anymore?  When the hell did this happen?  It’s NOT cool!  I can barely function now!  I was a zombie all day today, and I was fantasizing about my bed all freaking day today!  

Today everyone was like, “kegger, what are you doing for your birthday?  Are you going to go out?  Are you going to go get a nice dinner?”  

“No way!  I’m going to SLEEP!  I’ll save the birthday celebrations for the weekend!”  

Everyone was kind of looking at me like I was crazy.  And like I had no life.  (Which I guess is kind of debatable.  I guess my life is pretty boring to some, but I’m content with it.)  But then again, I have to remind myself that they don’t know about the fun, crazy, hectic weekend that I had.  Which would also seem pretty uneventful to some, but when you DO finally get to sleep, it’s not easy to sleep in a full sized bed with yourself, a husband, and a 100 pound great dane–when I tried to explain this, everyone was like, 

“But Kegger, why didn’t you just toss Lucy off the bed and make her sleep on the floor?!”  

I tried that.  Believe me, I tried that.  But we have a king sized bed.  She snuggles up to me every night, and there’s always plenty of room for her.  When I shoved her off the bed, she looked at me like I’d ripped up her favorite toy.  Those pitiful puppy dog eyes just killed me.  And then she jumped right back on the bed.  So… yeah.  Dog slept in the bed with us.  It was a VERY crowded full sized bed, and needless to say, when I finally DID get to sleep, it wasn’t good sleep.  

I think I might take a Tylenol PM and crash.  Save the birthday celebrations for the 3 day weekend.  

I’m pathetic.  

Side note that has absolutely nothing to do with the rest of the story:  This weekend I bought some Fit Flops.  I have a thing for flip flops, so I figured, what the hell?  And seriously, they WORK!  All I did this weekend was swap flip flops.  From my Reefs to the Fit Flops.  And I woke up Sunday morning and my hamstrings hurt like I’d worked out.  Then, this morning, I woke up and my thighs were sore.  Cool!  Flip flops that make your leg muscles all exercisey-sore.  I’m impressed.  

 

Entry filed under: growing up, not awesome, random, Rant. Tags: , .

I know that voice… Radio Silence

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ameliebee  |  July 1, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    What the hell is a fit flop?

    Reply
  • 2. kegger  |  July 2, 2008 at 10:18 am

    http://www.thefitflop.com.

    They seriously work! My legs are sore, and the only thing I’ve done are switch flip flops. I’m kind of shocked. I’d heard of them last summer–they’re British, I think–but they were sold out. This year they’re a little bit easier to find. So that’s one thing I asked for for my birthday. Plus, as you know, amelie, I have a serious flip flop addiction, anyway. Might as well wear some magical flip flops that give my legs a workout.

    Reply
  • 3. brooklyn  |  July 4, 2008 at 12:18 am

    …but why would anyone want to make their legs sore from wearing flip flops? To me, that defeats the purpose.

    Reply
  • 4. ameliebee  |  July 5, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I mean, really. Flip flops are shoes for lazy people.

    Reply
  • 5. kegger  |  July 7, 2008 at 8:52 am

    I LOVE flip flops. But I also like when my legs are sore from exercising. It makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives


