Archive for May 30, 2008

Friday’s Photo

Man, we really suck at getting these things posted. We humbly apologize for being lazy procrastinators. It won’t happen…okay, yeah, it’ll probably happen again. ANYway. This week’s photo is from Oxford, Miss., above Square Books.

May 30, 2008 at 1:28 pm 1 comment

The Awesomes

We’ve already discussed the things that sucked this television season. Now here are the things we loved, laughed at, and talked about. brooklyn is helping us out again, because she rocks like that.

Most Dramatic Moment in a Comedy: Ted breaks up with Barney, How I Met Your Mother; Jim comforts Dwight, The Office
amelie: My heart broke a little when Ted ended his bro-lationship with Barney. It was sad and depressing, just like a break-up should be.

kegger: Love both of these, but Ted breaking up with Barney wins hands down for me.

brooklyn: Definitely HIMYM. Usually, if I cry during Mother, it’s because I’m laughing too hard. This breakup punched me in the grief bone.
Winner: Ted and Barney’s break up

Awesomest New Show: Pushing Daisies, Chuck, Gossip Girl
amelie: I love you, Chuck, but PD wins this one for me. I’m a sucker for whimsy and Lee Pace. (See: Wonderfalls)

kegger: PD and Chuck tie for me. I love them both for different reasons. One is funny and awesome, and the other whimsical and dream-like.

brooklyn: PD. Come on, the aunts are synchronized swimmers! Olive! Emerson! And, of course, Ned is the sex.

Winner: Pushing Daisies

Yes, They Went There Award (for actually paying off a season-long story line): sending Dean to Hell, Supernatural
amelie: I’m currently in the middle of season 1 and haven’t seen any of season 3, but I do know that the hell hounds did, in fact, swoop down on Dean and sent his short-but-very-fine-ass to hell, where there are meat hooks and blood and pain.
Winner: Supernatural, by default

Wibbly-Wobbly Timey-Wimey Award for shows that fuck with time: Doctor Who, Lost, HIMYM
amelie: DW, obvi. I mean, he’s a time-traveling, planet-hopping alien. And he coined the phrase “wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey.”

kegger: DW. His competition isn’t really on the same level when it comes to wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey stuff.

brooklyn: Lost. Flashforwards, flashbacks, and time-travel lead to headaches.
Winner: Doctor Who

Thank God for Non-Reality Summer Programming: Psych, Burn Notice
amelie: This is difficult, because I love both these shows very much. But I’m going to give it to Psych because it’s all-out silly and fun and just what I want in the summer. Although, if I get lots of shirtless Jeffrey Donovan, my vote might change…

kegger: Tie.

brooklyn: Psych. Shawn & Gus: the best of bros.
Winner: Psych

Animal sidekick who deserves his own show: Digby the undying dog, Pushing Daisies; Sprinkles the cat, The Office
amelie: Whenever I see poor, unpetted Digby, I have to give my dog a big hug. Not only has he stuck by Ned’s side all these untouchable years, he makes a kick-ass dancing partner. Sprinkles loses points for being mercy-killed by Dwight.

kegger: Love Digby. I still think it’s kind of a miracle that he hasn’t touched him in this long. I think I would have by accident, I think. Plus, I light to snuggle up with my dog, so having Digby around would be kind of difficult for me.

brooklyn: Agreed. And, Sprinkles is dead.

Winner: Digby

Most Inappropriately Funny Moment of the Season: Jack role plays Tracy Jordan’s family, 30 Rock
amelie: I believe I sat in stunned silence for a good 30 seconds after watching this the first time. And then I rewatched it and laughed until I couldn’t breathe.

brooklyn: Agreed. Best therapy session ever.
Winner: Jack Donaghy

May 30, 2008 at 10:12 am Leave a comment


May 2008
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives