Weekly Wrap-Up

May 2, 2008 at 9:15 am Leave a comment

Television:

How I Met Your Mother
amelie: I am heartbroken at Ted and Barney’s breakup. I have mixed feelings about it, but I trust the writers and creators to get the pair back together in an awesomely legendary way. My favorite part of the episode was the flashback to the creation of the Bro Code (Me, D.C.–snorfle). I also loved flustered Barney at the bar when everyone was talking about hitting it. It kind of reminded me of nervous Marshall in The Bracket (“I don’t know what to do with my hands!”) I’m kind of surprised that they got the X-Box joke past the censors. (Actually, I’m not. I watched Veronica Mars all three years, and the things they got away with…)

kegger: amelie, I can’t believe you forgot to mention the goat! I’m kind of a big fan of animals (and I had all kinds of random pets when I was little at my grandparent’s house, including goats) so the goat was kind of one of my favorite parts of that episode. I’m hoping that they’ll unite Barney and Ted soon.

amelie: Goats are evil, y’all.

Reaper
amelie: I haven’t watched every episode of this show, but I’ve seen enough to know what’s going on. I think the addition of Ken Marino (Vinnie Van Lowe!) as a gay demon is genius. (Trust me, kegger, it totally works.) I like that the Devil is starting to be a little more…er, devilish, I guess. His veneer of buddy-buddy is wearing thin. This was probably my favorite episode that I’ve seen. It had just the right mix of playfulness and drama. kegs, you should really start watching it. The first part of the season isn’t great, but these last few post-strike episodes have been really good.

kegger: I can’t add anything to this, since I don’t freaking have CW! (Which still pisses me off. But it’s okay, because I’ve kind of boycotted the CW since they cancelled Veronica Mars, anyway.) The gay demon does sound entertaining, though. Especially if Ken Marino is playing him.

The Office
amelie: Toby. God, Toby, you’re a douche and I no longer feel sorry for you. You can’t go behind Jim’s back and bitch to Ryan and think that’s going to help you out with Pam. Not gonna happen. I used to like you and feel sorry for you, but I’m thinking that Michael might have been right all these years. I never thought I’d say that. I love Michael’s moments of self-awareness. He doesn’t have them often, but when he does, they are glorious. His standoff with Stanley was tense and hard to watch, but I thought the resolution fit with both characters. And of course Michael is going to latch on to the clear-the-room method for dealing with unruly employees. Watch your back, Phyllis.

kegger: Since I supervise people at work, I can totally sympathize with Michael. There’s a thin line between being friends with your employees and being their boss. It really kind of sucks sometimes. It looks like Michael might actually be turning into a boss. I felt proud of him last night. And Jim! Poor Jim! When Ryan told him that his job performance wasn’t up to par, I felt so bad for him. He looked like his puppy dog had gotten run over. And poor Pam could tell that something was off, but he didn’t tell her about it. And I think Ryan is a little bitch and he needs to get run over.

Movies:
amelie: I didn’t watch any movies this week. Confession: I still haven’t returned Stardust to Netflix. I should probably do that…

kegger: That’s the beautiful thing about Netflix. No late fees. I LOOOOVE Netflix. I’ve had Atonement for about a month now and still haven’t had a chance to watch it. But, I DID watch Into the Wild last week. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like that movie or not, but I really did. It was very different that I expected it to be, and it kind of made me want to just quit everything and go rough it. But I think I might miss television and toilets a little too much for that. Still, it made me realize how materialistic everyone tends to be sometimes. I’m more of a happy ending kind of person, though, so the ending kind of bummed me out. Still, I really liked it.

Books:
The Historian
amelie: I just started reading this, and so far I like it. However, I have decided that I can’t read it at night right before I fall asleep. It’s definitely creepy, and my overactive imagination does not help. At all.

kegger: I loved that book. It definitely had a creepy feel to it. I read that when it first came out. I might have to reread it now that you’re talking about it. I’m not entirely sure, but I think they’re making a movie out of that book. I hope they do, it could have the potential to be a great movie.

amelie: Or it could suck balls.

Music:
Flight of the Conchords, “Flight of the Conchords”
amelie:
I love this show. I love Bret and Jemaine. I love their songs. I love this CD. I had forgotten how funny and deep New Zealand’s fourth most popular guitar-based digi-bongo acapella-rap-funk-comedy folk duo could be. Favorite tracks: Mutha’uckas and Hiphopopotamus v. Rhymenocerous

Adele, 19

kegger: I love Adele! Her voice is old fashioned and kind of a breath of freash air after all of the poppy Britney Spears crap that has been around for so long. From reviews I’ve read, it sounds like she’s pretty well known in the UK but her CD was just released in the states a few weeks ago. I especially like that she doesn’t have the image that a lot of the other musicians of today have. She’s not super skinny and she’s not a fashion plate. She looks like an average, every day, kind of chunky girl, which I love. Why do singers have to look like super models? Favorite tracks: Hometown Glory and Chasing Pavements

Moment of the Week:
Darryl’s gang advice, The Office
amelie: He was in the Bloods, the Cryps, the Latin Kings, Warriors, and Newsies, and he’s got the best argument-diffusing technique: Fluffy fingers: “When someone gets in your face, you just start tickling him, and he starts tickling you. Before you know it, you’ve forgotten the whole thing. You go to church, get an ice cream cone.” Problem solved.

kegger: Agreed. That part was hilarious. I kind of half expected Michael to try solving problems at work during last night’s episode by tickling everyone. I don’t think Bob Vance, Vance Refridgeration would have appreciated that very much.

Entry filed under: awesome, Books, entertainment, movies, music, television, weekly wrap-up. Tags: , , , .

She Said/She Said Friday’s Photo (finally!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


