Who said that?

April 17, 2008 at 9:28 pm 21 comments

Here’s the game: fifteen quotes from fifteen different television shows. Without any cheating, checking Google or using anything other than your brain, see how many quotes you know. I want the names of both the television show and the character who said it. Bonus points if you know the name of the episode.

Ready? Remember, no cheating. I’ll know if you cheat.

1. This is not gonna be some funny story that we’re gonna be telling in a couple of months. It’s not gonna be like ‘remember that time when you were grinding with’-No. And do you know why? Because, italics, this night did not happen.

2. “Day” is a vestigial mode of time measurement, based on solar cycles. It’s not applicable. I didn’t get you anything.

3. You know that sound you’re hearing, you know, that boom? That’s my mind blowing.

4. Dream on, Jump Street, I’m not leaving you alone with her.

5. I believe the moon doesn’t exist. I believe that vampires are the world’s greatest golfers but their curse is that they’ll never get to prove it! I believe there are 31 letters in the white alphabet. Well…what was the question again?

6. This close, they always look like landscape. Nope, you’re looking at balls.

7. That’s what you get, Charlie! You get fork-stabbed! Fork-stabbed!

8. Excuse me. People throwing themselves at people? Is, like, the basis of civilization.

9. St. Paul was just a punk until he was blinded by the light, and Gandhi was just drinking and whoring it up with his friends until he heard the cry of his people.

10. Dr. Do-Right doesn’t trust me with his antibiotics so I gotta hump it up here every day to get my meds. You know, a less magnanimous man than I might just be thinking he could beat the ever-living snot out of you right now without fear of reprisal.

11. He told us to leave, said he didn’t serve our kind. That was racist, and a little bit rude.

12. Maybe it’s the syphilis talking, but… some of that made sense.

13. That is a very difficult thing to do, reading the Bible in one night. I myself have only done it three times. You need great determination and excellent light. I’m very impressed.

14. Gum would be perfection. Gum would be perfection. I could have said gum would be nice, could have said I’ll have a stick. But no no no no no, for me, gum is perfection. I loathe myself.

15. What was that rhyme? I scream, you scream, we all scream, cause you faked your death.

Edit: It’s been a while, so I’m posting the answers to the unsolved quotes. Highlight to reveal.

2. River, Firefly, Out of Gas

3. Marshall, Alias, Time Will Tell

9. Aaron, Wonderfalls, Totem Mole

10. Sawyer, Lost, All the Best Cowboys Have Daddy Issues

14. Chandler, Friends, The One With The Blackout

Entry filed under: random amusement, television.

What is it about bras? Weekly Wrap-up

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brooklyn  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    1. HIMYM, Barney, “Okay Awesome”

    5. 30 Rock, Tracy Jordan, umm…can’t remember, but something with him finding a new religion

    6. Arrested Development, Barry!…can’t remember the ep

    11. Flight of the Conchords, Bret, “Drive By”

    12. BtVS, Xander…? I’m unsure about this one, actually.

    That’s all I got for now, but I have a few others in mind…gotta think about them longer!

    Reply
  • 2. ameliebee  |  April 18, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    1. Correct
    5. Correct (it’s from The Fighting Irish)
    6. Correct (from Sad Sack, one of my favorite season 2 episodes)
    11. Correct. Ginger Balls!
    12. Correct (from Pangs)

    Reply
  • 3. brooklyn  |  April 18, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Sad Sack! How could I forget that title.

    Reply
  • 4. Alex  |  April 18, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    hey sry, I stumbled upon you site when I was looking up stuff about the office.

    and 13. gilmore girls, mrs. kim to dave. Say Goodnight, Gracie season 3

    oh and 7 is from It’s always Sunny in Philidelphia, said by Liam

    Reply
  • 5. ameliebee  |  April 19, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Yep and yep, Alex. The Sunny quote is from “Charlie Goes America All Over Everybody’s Ass.”

    Reply
  • 6. kegger  |  April 21, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I suck at these things. But go figure, the ones I knew, have already been figured out.

    Reply
  • 7. ameliebee  |  April 21, 2008 at 9:46 am

    kegger, honestly. I know you know 3 and I know you know 8. I’m pretty sure you’re going to kick yourself when you find out where 9 is from. It’s only from my favorite episode of a certain show we both love.

    Reply
  • 8. kegger  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Okay, I think that 3 and 8 are from How I Met Your Mother. And I think that Barney said 8. And 9 is from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia?? And Charlie said it? And it’s the episode with the Virgin Mary in the water stain?

    Reply
  • 9. ameliebee  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:08 am

    No and no and no. Seriously, think of the two shows you looove that I like okay-ish. You’re really going to hate yourself when you find out the answers.

    I only used one quote per show, so there are no more HIMYM or Sunny quotes up there. And actually, none of those quotes are from sitcoms.

    Oh, and number 9 is kinda hard, but I think it’s funny and it’s from a show I love, and it’s my game, so there.

    Reply
  • 10. kegger  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Seriously, doesn’t the Sunny quote that I picked out sound like it could fit that episode???!

    Damnit, I must just have HIMYM on the mind because I’ve been watching it so much lately. Because as soon as I read those quotes (before you told me I should know them) I thought, I’ve heard this recently! So I automatically picked HIMYM. Because that’s all I’ve watched recently.

    I have no idea what show it could be! None! Something I love that you kinda like… ????? You don’t like BSG. It’s not from MSCL. (Which, by the way, have you watched anymore of those??!)

    Is one of them from IT Crowd?

    Reply
  • 11. ameliebee  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Are you sure one of those quotes isn’t from MSCL? ARE YOU SURE? Come on, Katie. Focus. You know these quotes. I put them here specifically for you because, let’s face it, you suck at this game. So I thought I’d be nice and include a couple that I *knew* you’d get. So freaking get them already! I’m dying over here.

    Reply
  • 12. kegger  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:42 am

    OH MY GOSH OH MY GOSH OH MY GOSH! MSCL IS NUMBER 8! AND RAYANNE SAID IT!!!!!!! I’m sure she was in the bathroom talking to Ricky and Angela when she said it, because that’s practically where they always are! Oh my gosh! Did I get it? Did I Did I did ?!?

    And I know I suck at this, I’m just not gifted at quotes. I laugh hysterically at them as I listen to them, and then they exit my mind, even though I tell myself, remember this, remember this, it’s funny! It still always slips my mind!

    Reply
  • 13. ameliebee  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Good grief. That was like pulling teeth. Yes, Rayanne said number 8 in the bathroom in the episode “Dancing in the Dark.”

    Reply
  • 14. kegger  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    WHY DO I SUCK AT THIS GAME SO MUCH?!? I’m definitely more of a visual person, I guess.

    Reply
  • 15. brooklyn  |  April 23, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    LOL, these comments.

    I thought kegger would get 4 for sure, but she didn’t, so…

    4. Logan, Veronica Mars,”Weapons of Class Destruction”

    15. Olive, Pushing Daisies, but I don’t know the ep title…”Bitches”? Ok, maybe I just wanted to say that.

    Reply
  • 16. ameliebee  |  April 23, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Right and right. (15 is from Girth)

    And I totally knew kegger would get the Logan quote. It’s one of my top-five favorite Logan moments of the entire series.

    Reply
  • 17. brooklyn  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Hmm…I can’t believe there aren’t any Office quotes on here!

    Reply
  • 18. ameliebee  |  April 23, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Hah. There was one, but then I accidentally deleted the post before I saved it, and then I couldn’t remember what quotes I had used. I didn’t realize there wasn’t an Office quote included until it was too late.

    Here it is: “That’s fat butt disease. That’s what you suffering from? Fat butt disease, Michael?”

    Now you have to say who said it and what the episode was, since you already know the show.

    Reply
  • 19. brooklyn  |  April 23, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Easy. Lonny (aka Sea Monster), “Safety Training.”

    Just wait until The Office trivia game comes out. I will own everybody. 😉

    Reply
  • 20. ameliebee  |  April 24, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Bring. It. On.

    Reply
  • 21. Who Said That: The Sequel « Are you me?  |  May 29, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    […] Edit: I also posted the answers to the unsolved quotes from the first game. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


