Comedy Night Done Right–oh, thank God.

April 11, 2008 at 8:20 pm 7 comments

Okay, there was much to love about last night’s Office. But since I’m still in countdown mode, here are my five favorite things about Dinner Party, in no particular order:

1. “oaky afterbirth” –I’m so going to use this in a conversation sometime. Probably it will be a conversation with kegger, since she’ll at least get the joke. But dammit, I’m going to say “oaky afterbirth” if it kills me.

2. Pam and Jim’s reactions to just about everything at Casa Levinson-Scott–Jim’s gagging in the candle room, Pam’s grin when Jim’s apartment “flooded,” the whispered talking heads, it was all spectacular.

3. Jan’s workspace–Question. Should it be called Jan Levinson Privates?

4. Andy was on fire harmonizing with Hunter’s song.

5. Michael lives in hell and Jan is the devil.

I could write a thesis on the imploding star that is Jan Levinson-noGould, but that’s for another day. Right now, all I care about is that my show is back and it’s just as awkwardly funny as ever.

Runner up: 30 Rock’s MILF Island on Erection Cove.

What? I’m 12.

Entry filed under: awesome, television. Tags: , .

1. Killer Nano-robots Things that make me sad

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kegger  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    I’VE BEEN TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO USE “OAKY AFTERBIRTH” IN A SENTENCE, TOO!!! And damnit, I just can’t come up with a brilliant way to use it yet!

    And Jan Levinson’s workspace should most definitely be called Jan Levinson’s Privates.

    Also worth mentioning: I seriously almost peed when Jan shoved the video camera under the bed. Did you see Pam’s expression? Hee! Next, I expect a Michael/Jan sex tape to somehow emerge–Michael is too vain and cocky not to brag about it to someone!

    Reply
  • 2. ameliebee  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I don’t know. If Jan was critiquing Michael’s smoove mooves post-sex, I have a feeling that he isn’t going to want those tapes to get out. I kind of hope that they are either destroyed or never see the light of day for his sake. Hasn’t he been through enough? The man sleeps on a bench! And his beloved (not)Plasma tv was destroyed! Also, I would probably throw up if I had to watch a Michael Scott sex tape.

    That settles it: we’re going to have to include wine in our next DVD marathon day, just so we can expound on its oaky afterbirth.

    Reply
  • 3. Brooklyn  |  April 16, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    I could go on such a long spiel about this episode, and what the writers have done to Jan, but I’ll refrain. In summary, though, if I were to say something, I would say that Lee & Gene are the worst writers of Michael/Jan there ever was, and they should never write them again. I say this because of: “Women’s Appreciation,” when they made Jan a bitch to Michael (re: money on the nightstand, filming them having sex, etc.) and now “The Dinner Party”, where they *continued* to make Jan psycho (check out the last deleted scene for further proof.) And they brought the video camera back again! Come on! Wasn’t that one of the reasons they broke up in the first place? Gah.

    Only Paul Leiberstein or Steve Carell are allowed to write for Michael/Jan. Paul makes them amazing: (The Client, Cocktails, Money).

    Ok, so I guess that was a long spiel. Um. Oaky afterbirth!

    Reply
  • 4. ameliebee  |  April 16, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    See, I don’t mind the downward spiral of Jan. I think she predicted it herself in Cocktails when she said something about “imploding on herself like a dying star.” That’s exactly what she’s doing. She’s always been tightly wound and she’s always been a bitch to Michael, so none of that is new. Add months of living with Michael (post break up and boob job), a publicly humiliating firing, a few thousand dollars of bankruptcy, one night with Hunter, 40 years of control freak, soak in alcohol, let sit for three hours while the osso buco braises, and you’ve got yourself a recipe for disaster.

    I kind of hate the thing she did to the dog (what is it with this show and cruelty to animals? First Sprinkles and now the nameless neighbor dog.), but it did give Andy and Angela a couple of awesome reaction shots.

    As for the video camera, I kind of wish all Jan had done was quietly taken it down without mentioning it to Michael. Show, don’t tell. But I still thought it was hilarious. Michael has no way of resisting Jan and they both know it.

    But I do agree that Paul writes amazing Michael and Jan episodes. Which is odd when you think about how he plays Toby and Michael hates Toby.

    Reply
  • 5. Brooklyn  |  April 16, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I agree that the collapsing in on herself lilke a dying star has been predicted, and even expected, but I wasn’t really thinking that it would happen to this degree. You know, I’m fine with everything that she did at the dinner party except for the dog thing. That’s just beyond believable to me. Funny, sure, (“He’s a weimaraner, you bitch!” slayed me) but I think it’s stupid. Actually, I’m not that ok with the vasectomies, either. I want Michael to have babies! I LOVED him with Sasha. So he needs to get that reversed again. 😉

    I think Angela was one of the best things about this episode. I love her so. “The thought of popping one of your beets into my mouth makes me want to vomit.” Man, when the woman holds a grudge…

    Reply
  • 6. kegger  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I liked Angela in this episode, too. I can’t tell that she’s pregnant–but then I kind of forgot to look–did anyone notice?

    Also, I couldn’t help but think this while I was watching this episode–you’d really think that Michael’s doctor would stop giving him vasectomy surgeries after the first two or three!

    Reply
  • 7. ameliebee  |  April 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Have you not seen the billboards for reverse vasectomies on the interstate? If that’s where Michael went (and let’s face it, if the man is going to get a reverse vasectomy, he’s going to go to someone with a billboard), I’ll just bet that the doctor didn’t have any problem reverse-reverse-reverse vasectomy.

    Angela’s face looked fuller, but that’s the only thing I noticed different about her. That beet comment is one of the most hilarious and disgusting sentences I’ve ever heard. I simultaneously love it and cringe because it’s so graphic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives


