The more I think about it, the more pissed off I am with the last Harry Potter book

March 31, 2008 at 3:01 pm 4 comments

Ever since they announced that they’re going to make the final HP book into 2 movies instead of one, I’ve been thinking.

I didn’t like Harry Potter and the Dealthy Hallows. I was somewhat disappointed with it when it first came out, but now, the more I think about it, the more I’m just PISSED. I mean, I still have an assload of questions. And you aren’t supposed to have an assload of questions at the end of a series, all of your questions are supposed to be answered! And I don’t want to get my answers from some stupid J.K. Rowling interview, I want to get my answers from the BOOK!

And also, I think most of the book was a complete waste of time. Couldn’t Rowling have condensed all of the aimless wandering into less space? Because honestly, I was bored with Harry, Hermione, and Ron fighting all of the time and walking around with no clue as to where to go. That could have been shortened a LOT.

I also don’t like that it wasn’t at Hogwarts. I missed Ginny and Neville and all of the professors and classes. It’s like Rowling created the awesome, kickass world that is Hogwarts, and then said, “Oh, nevermind, I’m taking it away, we aren’t going there again!” Well, foo on you! I don’t want to read about Harry wandering around all angsty, I want to read about Harry in his final year of school with his friends. And he can be angsty with his friends all he wants, but at least make him angsty with other people instead of wandering around aimlessly by himself and fighting constantly with his two best friends over and over again! That was BORING! Things concerning Voldemort have always happened in Hogwarts, why couldn’t he have stayed at Hogwarts? I mean, in the end, he ended up in Hogwarts, anyway. That’s where all the trouble ends up happening, so why leave it?

And the fight scene–it felt so rushed. It’s like, the entire book was blah blah blah, slow slow slow, aimless wandering, and then BAM! We’re back at Hogwarts and everything is crazy and there’s fighting and there’s no cool down time, or anything. If I were to compare it to an exercise, it was like the warm up was WAY too long, the actual vigorous exercise that gets your heart pumping was WAY too short, and then there was no cool down period to keep you from getting sore muscles. It was just suddenly over.

And THEN we get this REALLY crappy Epilogue that pretty much tells us nothing! We find out that Harry and Ginny end up together and have kids (which we knew all along.) We find out that Ron and Hermione end up together (which we also knew all along.) But we don’t find out crap about what happened after Voldemort was dead. I mean, sure, Voldy was dead, but I imagine there were some bad witches that they had to deal with–like Malfoy’s father. What happened to them? And the Ministry of Magic was a complete wreck, right? What happened with the magical government? How did they get their crap straight? And did Harry and Ron and Hermione go back to school for their last year? For that matter, Hogwarts was completely trashed after the big fight and half of the students were injured or had snuck out of the secret tunnel, etc. So what happened? Did they have to postpone the end of the year, what?! WHAT HAPPENED?!? Who ended up as Headmaster after Snape died? What did Ron and Harry and Hermione and Ginny end up doing for a living? When did they end up getting married and having babies? I WANT ANSWERS, DAMNIT! And NOT from interviews!!!

And what happened to the Weasley’s? How did they deal with the death of George? I think it was George that died. It might have been Fred, I really can’t remember. I would have liked it more if Percy had been the one that was offed, honestly, but she had to pick one of the twins to make it more sad and emotional, I’m sure. And that wasn’t a big suprirse, either. I mean, there were so many Weasley’s that you knew that at least one of them would die.

And Tons and Remus. I wanted more of them. And what was the point of making Harry the godfather if he didn’t even raise their baby? You’d think Harry would have wanted to raise the baby no matter how young he was simply because he didn’t want the baby to be as unfortunate as he had been. But anyway.

as;ldfjasodfkja;lsdfkj!!! I’m sure I could complain a LOT more, but I’ll stop for now. I’m sure that amelie has a few things to add.

Entry filed under: Books, entertainment, Rant. Tags: , .

Sometimes it would be so much fun to be a bitch Countdown to The Office

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ameliebee  |  March 31, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    I tend to agree with you mostly. I did think the aimless wandering in the middle could be cut down, but it lead us to the awesome reunion of Ron and Harry, so it gets a pass from me. Also, it was Fred who died (George lost an ear earlier in the book).

    As for Tonks and Remus, I knew as soon as Harry was made the godfather that they were going to die. It was inevitable.

    If you go back and reread the entire series, it’s pretty amazing how J.K. went from writing children’s books with a child hero to nearly adult novels with lots of dark themes and character growth. So even if the Deathly Hallows isn’t totally satisfying, it’s still pretty good stuff.

    My biggest beef with the book was in the epilogue: Albus Severus. Really? REALLY? I feel so bad for this kid. And I do not–not for one bloody minute–believe that Harry would feel that gracious towards Snape, no matter what his former teacher’s motivations had been. This was a man who had made his life miserable for years. I don’t care about Snape’s undying love for Harry’s mother. He was a cold, oily fish and Harry didn’t like him. Maybe he grew to not actively hate him, but I just don’t think he would name his son Severus. I think he’d name the family dog that, but not his son.

    I guess it’s one of those things–not everyone is going to be happy with the way things ended. Some people think it’s too much, some people think it’s not enough. I’ll always want more of the in-between years (what happened in-between the final battle and the epilogue), but that’s just me.

    Reply
  • 2. kegger  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Yes, but you could have had the awesome Ron/Harry reunion while still having less wandering. And yeah, Albus Severus has GOT to be the worst name in the history of the universe!

    And I knew Tonks and Remus were going to die, too, but that didn’t make me any more okay with it. I liked them together, damnit, and they didn’t have enough time together!

    My bad. Fred, not George. Still–why couldn’t they get rid of worthless Percy? (I know the answer to this one already–because no one would have really care of Percy was the one who was offed and you had to care, blah blah blah. But still.)

    And all of the other books were fantastic! I mean, I loved them! But the last one was just a let down, the more that I think about it. I wanted it at Hogwarts!

    Apparently she’s taken a lot of crap for the last one, because there’s rumors that she’s going to write another book. And not the encyclopedia that she initially mentioned.

    And yeah, I don’t think Harry would have cared that much, either. He may have had good intentions, but Snape was still a dick to him. And Snape still hated him because of who his father was.

    Reply
  • 3. ameliebee  |  March 31, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    I’d have to reread DH to have a more informed and up-to-date opinion, but I was decently satisfied by the ending of the series. Honestly, I was just relieved that Harry, Ron, Hermione, Ginny, and Neville made it out alive. Give me a year or so–I’ll have reread the entire series again by then–and I can be more specific with my criticisms.

    Reply
  • 4. kegger  |  April 3, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I was satisfied with it INITIALLY. It’s when I stopped to think about it that it started to piss me off. And I don’t see how on earth they’re going to make 2 movies out of it. What are they going to do for the 1st movie? Just have them wandering around like morons? That doesn’t sound like a great movie to me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


