A movie thing

March 6, 2008 at 5:27 pm Leave a comment

Here’s a movie questionnaire I found in my random stumblings on the Internet. I was bored, it was there, so here are my answers:

Name a movie you have seen more than 10 times.
White Christmas. I’ve watched it every year while decorating the Christmas tree since I was 10 or 11. I’m now 25. You do the math. I’ve also seen the Princess Bride more times than I can count.

Name a movie you’ve seen multiple times in the theater.
Hmmm…Maybe Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban? I think I saw that one twice, but I’m not sure.

Name an actor who would make you more inclined to see a movie.
It really depends on the plot and not who’s in it, but I guess I am more likely to see a crappy movie with, oh, Reese Witherspoon or George Clooney than a truly excellent movie with…

Name an actor who would make you less inclined to see a movie.
Tom Cruise.

Name a movie that you can and do quote from.
Just one? Sigh. Serenity:

“…this landing is going to get pretty interesting.” “Define interesting. ” “Oh god, oh god, we’re all gonna die”?

“Kaylee, what in the sphincter of hell are you playing at?”

“I swallowed a bug.”

“I’ll kill a man in a fair fight, or if I think he’s gonna start a fair fight… If he bothers me, or if there’s a woman… Or if I’m gettin’ paid. Mostly only when I’m gettin’ paid.”

“Dear Buddha, please bring me a pony, and a plastic rocket…”

“Hell with this. I’m gonna live!”

Name a movie musical from which you know all of the lyrics to all of the songs.
Oh, god. Seriously? Well, I could cop out and say White Christmas, but I’ll nut up and embarrass myself and admit that, yes, I do know (almost) all the words to (almost) all the songs in Grease.

Name a movie to which you have been known to sing along.
Erm, I don’t really sing along. But maybe I might have at one point when I was 6 hummed a few bars of Under the Sea and Kiss the Girl during the Little Mermaid.

Name a movie you would recommend everyone see.
The Philadelphia Story. No, not the AIDS movie with Tom Hanks, the classic rom-com with Katharine Hepburn, Cary Grant, and Jimmy Stewart.

Name a movie you own.
One movie? ONE MOVIE?! Fine. One movie. I own Amelie, along with 50 or so other fine and not-so fine cinematic accomplishments.

Name an actor who launched his/her entertainment career in another medium but who has surprised you with his/her acting chops.
Will Smith

Have you ever seen a movie in a drive-in? If so, what?
Nope.

Ever made out in a movie?
Nope.

Name a movie you keep meaning to see but just haven’t gotten around to it yet.
The Science of Sleep
Ever walked out of a movie?
I came thisclose to leaving the theater during Mars Attacks, but I stuck it out. I’ll never get those two hours back, and somebody owes me $25. I’m including interest in that.

Name a movie that made you cry in the theater.
Okay, I’m the weird girl who cries at Hallmark commercials, so this is not the best question to ask me. I cried during the entire last hour of Return of the King. I cried during Serenity. I cry when people die. I cry when people on screen cry. I cry a lot, apparently.

What’s the last movie you saw in the theater?
The Bucket List. Don’t ask, and don’t go see it.

What’s your favorite/preferred genre of movie?
Comedy–frat boy, romantic, well-done screwball. I like to laugh, and there’s less of a chance of my crying if I’m watching a comedy.

What’s the first movie you remember seeing in the theater?
Bambi. Which apparently came out in 1942. I know I saw it in the movie theater, because I loved Thumper, and my mom took me to McDonald’s so I could get the Thumper toy. (Thank you, wikipedia. Bambi was re-released in 1988, so I didn’t make up that memory.)

What movie do you wish you’d never seen?
Legends of the Fall. Everyone dies! It’s depressing as hell! You’ll wish you were dead by the time it’s over! Fun for the whole family!

What is the weirdest movie you enjoyed?
I hate to go all existential on this question, but what qualifies as weird? Outlandish plot, strange costumes, head-exploding time travel? One man’s weird is another man’s awesome, so this question kind of sucks. But in the interest of answering the damn question and moving on, I’ll go with Pan’s Labyrinth for darkly weird, Amelie for sweet-quirky weird, and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind for head-tripping weird.

What is the scariest movie you’ve seen?
The Birds. Oh, god, the birds. I still don’t trust them and their innocent twittering.

What is the funniest movie you’ve seen?
Laugh-out-loud stoner funny–Harold and Kumar
Screwball funny–Bringing Up Baby
Old-school funny–Young Frankenstein
Medieval funny–Monty Python and the Holy Grail
mockumentary funny–Spinal Tap and Best in Show

I could go on and on, but I’ll stop now, until I think of other funny movies that made me laugh. Like Knocked Up (which would be Judd-Apatow-is-a-genius-and-he-owns-me funny). Oh! and Ferris Bueller’s Day off (I-wish-I-had-been-1/10-as-cool-as-Ferris-when-I-was-in-high-school funny). Okay, okay. I’m done.

Entry filed under: entertainment, movies.

People you’d hate in real life Dear…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


