The Dog Count, Part 2

July 28, 2007 at 4:09 pm 1 comment

Driving home one day, my mom and I spotted the cutest puppy sitting as nice as you please on the side of the road. We took her home and she became my mother’s dog. I was definitely not allowed to name her, and since she technically was my mother’s dog, she named her Belle. Since Belle was so special, she got to live inside, while the others slummed it in the real world. Who am I kidding? They dug holes in the yard and slept all day. They couldn’t have been happier. Humans: 3, Dogs: 5

After Belle came Zoe, my grandmother’s psychotic Yorkie. Zoe was tiny and yappy and liked to bounce up-down-up-down-up-down like a basketball. She bounced for no particular reason, just because she could. And she lived inside. Humans: 3, Dogs: 6

Around this time, our outside dogs starting showing their ages. Bo was the first to go, followed by Samba, Cos, and finally Whiskey. It was difficult to drive up and not see their fuzzy faces and lolling tongues there to sniff and lick and make sure it really was me. It still is a little weird knowing they’re not there, but I know deep down that no one lives forever, not even dogs. Humans: 3, Dogs: 2

The next dog we inherited was Cedric, also a Yorkie and Zoe’s long-lost brother, although not so yappy and definitely not so bouncy. He immediately became my dad’s dog. Humans: 3, Dogs: 3

And then there’s Baby. She is a yellow dog of the parking lot variety. (Meaning she was a yellow dog that lived in the parking lot of my mom’s office.) She had it pretty good in that parking lot, too: Mom gave her dog food and water and treats, the people next door tossed her cheeseburgers on the weekend, the people across the street gave her bologna sandwiches and she stole slippers and stuffed animals from the Salvation Army. She still has a thing for paper and socks. Old habits die hard, I guess. And because Mom was afraid she would run away, she got to live inside. Humans: 3, Dogs: 4

The penultimate act in the dog count is the death of Zoe. She took off when my mom was walking all four dogs one day and was attacked by the vicious dogs that live up the road. And while I miss her everyday, we’ve got our hands full with the other dogs. Keeping my socks from being eaten by Baby is a 24-hour job. Humans: 3, Dogs: 3

In October, I finally got a dog of my own. It only took 23 years. Edie is mine all mine. I feed her, pay for her vet visits, fuss at her when she’s bad, buy her treats, train her—I do it all. I’m in no way a dog expert, but she’s a great puppy if I do say so myself. She’s a 50 lb. yellow mixed breed, a mouthy, toothy, scratchy, scrunchy monkey puppy. She is part chow, part lab, and all mouth. To date, she has eaten two cell phone, at least one ream of paper, fourteen “indestructible” dog toys, a couple of towels, four rolls of toilet paper, several pillows, one bra, four pairs of panties, and at least six pairs of shoes. Oh and one CD. I’m sure there are things that I’m forgetting. I’ve only had her since October. She’s stubborn and smart and has the cutest wrinkles in her forehead. Humans: 3, Dogs: 4

When I (finally) moved out of my parents’ house, I moved into my cousin’s house. She is overseas for a year, and I am taking care of her house and her animals. She has one dog, Moonpie, a somewhat prissy, always needy greyhound. I like him, though. He’s a big ole baby who is extremely tolerant of my monster. My cousin also has two cats who spend most of the day sleeping and eating. The final (as of now) count: Dogs: 2, Cats:2, Humans: 1

My girl Edie

Edie

Entry filed under: dogs.

Friday’s Photo Another late Friday’s Photo

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kegger  |  July 30, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Awww! Edie Monster! I think that should be her official name. I hadn’t realized she’d chewed that much yet. Lucy just destroyed her first pair of shoes last week. Maaaaaan did she get a spanking. I had gotten to wear those shoes ONE time before she decided she wanted to chew on one! Grrrr!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter: kegger

Twitter: ameliebee

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


